Volunteer Day; or, The Martinez Farm; or, Once Upon a Waterfall

On Saturday, Mr. Rodolfo (the principal) took all the volunteers to a farm out in the bush, less than an hour from Benque.  The occasion was “volunteer day,” although this year the support staff were also invited (but none came).

Before I go on, please dispel from your mind the images of manicured pastures and cozy red barns conjured by my use of the word “farm.”  The Martinez farm is beautiful, wild, exotic; it is anything but manicured.  We drove most of the way over dirt roads through increasingly jungle-like scenery.  The family who owns the farm makes their living by renting it (or parts of it) out, hosting visiting archeologists and the like.  A little-known benefit of living in Mayan territory, I suppose.

Image

Image

Although the farm is large and prosperous, the family lives very simply.  Below is the kitchen.  The Martinez’s cook most of their food over a wood fire in this thatch-roofed, dirt-floored structure, where we ate our barbequed chicken and tortillas around a large picnic table.

ImageImage

Most of the day was rainy and overcast, which meant that it was almost chilly; but the main effect of the rain was the incredible amount of mud.  Later on I washed my clothes three times before I was satisfied that they were clean, and I hadn’t even participated in the mudbath…er…pickup soccer game (though I did get muddy by other means; more on that later.).

Image

We didn’t actually explore much of the farm.  Rumor has it that they keep wild (?) horses somewhere on the property, but we didn’t see them this trip.  We did go down to the stream behind the main set of buildings and outbuildings, where we discovered a gorgeous tree-house.  It stands half in the stream, overlooking the beginning of a glorious series of cascades.  Apparently the Martinez’s actually rent the treehouse to archeologists as a place to stay.  There are beds on the second floor (the building has a second floor!), and hammocks on the first.  Imagine, for a moment, the experience of being a visiting archeologist; exploring and digging through ruins in the natural peace and beauty of the jungle by day, and sleeping each night in an open-air treehouse, to the accompaniment of the soothing sounds of a real waterfall.  Actually, imagine being an archeologist at all.  What a job!

The tree-house (I should probably call it a “stream-house” or something more accurate; it wasn’t exactly in a tree…) came complete with a ladder, to allow for easy descent into the pools and cascades at the head of the waterfall.  After lunch, most of us decided to climb down the waterfall, to see where it led.  I wish I had been able to take pictures during our descent and subsequent re-ascent, but I was afraid my camera would simply drown.  Judging from my own soaked state by the end of the day, I think I made the right decision.  However, Kelley and I did take a few pictures of the waterfall from the treehouse at the top, and I took a few of the stream itself.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Below, our group begins its descent.  We are mostly still dry at this point.

Image

Image

Climbing the waterfall was definitely the highlight of the day.  By the time we had been climbing for a couple of minutes, finding safe footing had become a much higher priority than staying even slightly dry.  Each cascade pooled into a “step,” which was significantly deeper directly under the falling water.  Because of this, safer footing could usually be found around the edge of the step, between parts of the waterfall, or on various logs and plants lying across the water.  Anyone who knows me knows that my “balance” is both comedy and tragedy, so threading my way over rocks and roots was a little tough; perhaps a better word would be “exhilarating.”

We had to rely mostly on vines, bamboo, and rotting trees for balance and support, which made the experience many times more exciting, since the trees were often so soft that they would give way immediately, and many of the vines were armed with jagged thorns.  At one point, as I tried to duck through some overly dense vegetation, something caught the skin of my shoulder – through my shirt – and wouldn’t let me go.  I was completely stuck while I attempted to wiggle my way away from the thorn that had firmly bitten into me.  Looking at my shoulder later, I could see two puncture marks, so I think reason for my thorough “stuck-ness” was that the thorn had hooked all the way through my skin and back out again.  I did manage to remove that thorn as soon as I was free, but I still have another one in my finger.

Time has assured us that the barbs were not armed with any deathly venom, at least, for which I am grateful.  That was not a ‘given.’  The whole experience was strange in this respect, because on the one hand it didn’t feel exotic at all; it felt like a somewhat grander-scale version of the muddy, woodsy, pondsy traipsing I used to do as a child, getting just as wet and muddy, and feeling almost equally adventurous.  On the other hand, when I stopped to think, I was struck by the fact that I really was climbing a waterfall in a tropical jungle.  The plants and even the fungus and bacteria were probably foreign to me.  In this climate I suppose I truly could have met a killer plant or animal, but it didn’t seem much riskier than similar excursions at home.  Ultimately, we were within climbing distance of the farm, and within driving distance – albeit somewhat bumpy driving – of help, and the climbing itself was tame enough for me to partake, so it probably wasn’t that dangerous.  Nevertheless, it is surreal to think that I am here, and that this is the way we “get away” for a day.

In accordance with that fact, the surrounding flora and fauna were beautiful and unfamiliar.  Unfamiliar to my old self, I should say.  I am actually getting used to them now.  Once again, I wish I had been able to take pictures farther down the waterfall, but my camera (and the pictures) probably wouldn’t have benefited from the attempt.  At one point on the way back up, Joe stopped ahead of me and said “this looks fake.”  He was standing in front of a wall of cascades, complete with clear water falling over rocks, bamboo and ferns and who knows what else shooting out in random directions.  And he was right.  It looked like an artificial background piece at a rainforest-themed restaurant, and even more like an environmental recreation in the rainforest section of a natural history museum.  But this was real, and we found it in the midst of a casual Saturday recreational excursion.

I did not want to come out of the water, but we had to leave eventually.  Here is the group of us, with Mr. Rodolfo in front.  The picture also includes one of our students, whose uncle owns the farm.

Image

I should have mentioned that the bus we took (The school rented a bus, which was funny, since it ended up being very empty with just the volunteers inside.) dropped us off on the “main” [dirt] road, about of a quarter mile from the farm.  We had to walk in and out.  This experience was significantly funnier because the side road to the farm was showing the effects of the recent days and days of rain.  It was so muddy that you could easily sink right in, and parts of it were flooded completely.  The walk through the woods was pretty, though!

Image

Yep, that’s the road:

Image

ImageImage

We made it back to our bus in the end.  Please note that the bus is a painted, converted school bus, which is completely normal in Belize.

Image

Image

When we got home, still soaked and muddy, there were workmen in our house, wiring lighting and putting up new fans.  I was so wet that I didn’t want to sit down until I had showered, so I ended up standing around in the living room for probably close to an hour.  Finally I gave up and locked myself in to shower, not even coming out when I heard the men talking to one of the other girls in a way that signified their need to get into the attic…which opens into the bathroom.  They just had to wait.

About Monica

Hello! I am Monica, Catholic wife, mom, and author. My latest project is my upcoming book, "The Plans I Have for You: a Catholic Story of OCD, Vocation, and Marriage." When I'm not sneaking time to write, I can be found homeschooling my kids, cleaning crayon off the floor, or reading. Welcome to my online space. I hope you find hope and healing here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Volunteer Day; or, The Martinez Farm; or, Once Upon a Waterfall

  1. Suzie says:

    Well… if you want to attract new teachers to this enterprise, direct them to this post on the blog. Hope the puppies are well. 🙂 What will you do with them?

    • Monica says:

      Haha. It might scare some of them away, I don’t know…

    • Monica says:

      Also, the funny thing is that I think some people think our whole life is like this…yet Benque isn’t really even jungle-ish. Jungular? Whatever. Anyway, the puppies seem fine. We’ll probably give them away…although we might keep one. Anyway, there are only 3.

  2. Suzie says:

    By the way, that was Mom… I guess Sue left the last comment on my computer. 🙂

  3. Joe says:

    Sounds fantastic, although I’m amazed you weren’t more worried by the venemous-spines thing… Are they that common? Does the tropical flora as well as fauna present imminent dangers to life and limb as well as the fauna?

    Also, that picture of a flower is probably the best one I’ve seen from your camera, from a technical standpoint. I didn’t realize it had that kind of aperture flexibility. Also also, are you putting ads on your blog on purpose now, or is that just a WordPress once-in-a-while thing?

    • Monica says:

      I don’t think they’re all that common. Well…at least not in fringe jungle land where things don’t act too scary. The night gate guard did spend one evening while I was between classes telling me all about different flora and fauna. Yes, they do have scary things in both categories. But they seem avoidable.

      Yah, thanks for noticing…I was quite proud of that picture. My camera’s picture quality is generally pretty bad, but that one was super-zoomed and focused, and it just did that. I was happy with the result.

      Also also, no, the ads are a WordPress thing. I hope nothing objectionable ever gets posted on my missionary blog. That would be awkward.

  4. Suzie says:

    This is really Sue…
    That is an amazing picture of the flower!!!
    Mom can actually change who WordPress thinks it is anyway.

Leave a comment